This is Me Before I Come Undone











{September 20, 2012}   THIS IS WHY AMANDA PALMER IS FUCKING AMAZING.

I love Tegan and Sara to death.  Obviously.  But sometimes… I wish they’d be a little more like this.  Sometimes I feel like they’re going off into big-label oblivion, opening for the Black Keys and the Killers, while Amanda Palmer’s new album is debuting at #10 on Billboard BECAUSE she chucked ALL of the big-label bulls*** and put her entire career in the hands of her fans… and they paid her back ten-fold.  Two (well three) artists I love, going in drastically different directions with their careers… and, well, neither way is for everybody, I know that…but…one way makes the fans feel important and involved and well… part of the success!  And that’s really remarkable.  And the other way, well… it doesn’t.

amandapalmer:

Cross-posted from my blog.

_________________

hola dear comrades!!

it’s been a week since my cell phone rang backstage in NYC on the opening night of the Theatre is Evil world tour. on the line was a NY times journalist I’d never spoken to. what followed has been a week-long fervid – and…

And I love THIS.  Because I’ve spent the last seven or so years kind of being part of “the media”… without really ever even thinking of it that way.  And I love Amanda Palmer for making me think of it that way.  I mean, it makes me think that I’m not just “recording concerts.”  It makes me feel like I’m actually doing something *real.*

Leave a Reply

et cetera
