This is Me Before I Come Undone











{April 18, 2010}   Recap: PDX!

Well, despite the two cross-country flights from hell and the most pain I’ve ever been in at a T&S show (it really wasn’t that bad since I got to sit the whole time… thank god it wasn’t a standing show and they didn’t bug the front row about standing up for once!)  I actually did get to rest and recoup (yes, yes, to all of you to whom I promised I would take it easy!) and to enjoy Portland!  I’d never been there before, so I was really glad to get to go.

Erin (one of my best friends since we were 13) took me around some of the city… we ate at a quirky diner named Roxy after the show that was so good we went back two days later to have a repeat on the “Too Snooty to Even Look at You French Toast,” eggs, and bacon.  We went to Voodoo Doughnuts (since apparently everyone says you have to) and got a delicious peanut butter and Oreo doughnut, though halfway through my second one I started to feel like I was going to be sick if I finished it (I mean seriously.  Think about how far YOU would get through two peanut butter and Oreo doughnuts).  We also spent hours in Powell’s Bookstore, which must be the most ginormous independent bookstore on the planet.  Since I’ve been into reading about trans/intersex/gender issues these days (Middlesex, As Nature Made Him), I got a copy of Dress Codes by Noelle Howey (full title – “Dress Codes: Of Three Girlhoods — My Mother’s, My Father’s, and My Own.”) Looking forward to reading!  Also, since Erin and I played soccer together from the time we were 13 all the way through high school (and both still play now), we lived out our high school dream of hitting the Adidas headquarters mecca with a 50% off coupon.  Jesus, talk about self-restraint (or lack thereof?)  I walked out with a pair of blue suede Sambas (just like the pair I had in high school that I wore TO DEATH, as Erin reminded me.  Like for real, I wore holes on both the insides and outsides of the soles that eventually met.  I still don’t know where they disappeared to.  I try not to think about the fact that my first ex probably chucked them.) a pair of really cushy flip-flops, a cute-but-practical pair of slip-ons (I don’t do trendy… so we’ll see how this goes), a pair of yoga/running pants (so comfy!) and a super cool, really cute light jacket that was probably way too expensive even at 50% off.  But I don’t have a light jacket.  And it had a number 24 on the sleeve.  Which was my soccer AND basketball number all through high school and college.  I mean, come on.  I had to.  Even though I still haven’t been brave enough to take off the tags.

My favorite, FAVORITE part of the trip, however… a day trip to Bagby Hot Springs! http://web.oregon.com/hiking/bagby_hot_springs.cfm

I was in so much pain my second day in Portland that I called my neurologist to ask if it was normal.  He assured me that I was okay, and advised lots of very hot soaks to ease the pain in my back and neck.  I told Erin this, who came back with an awesome idea… a very hot soak in natural springs!  I thought that sounded really cool… so the next day, after packing enough to probably last us a week in the wilderness, we were off.

The place was a two-hour drive and then one-mile hike through the woods away (during which Erin carried all of our stuff and I felt like a pathetic loser), but it was SO worth it.  It was free, with long, canoe-like baths that filled up from the SUPER hot springs (they had a cold water cistern where you could get buckets of cold water to bring down the temperature… and OH YES we did.  Putting toes that have just been on cold, wet wood into steaming hot water?  OWWW.  Luckily Erin carried the buckets too.)  We sat there for hours, letting the hot water run into our bath, chatting, and watching someone’s little pug dog occasionally run into our stall and sniff at our food.  My back and shoulders were so happy.  It was heavenly.

Hot Springs

Another room full of baths, and a big hot tub that was, sadly, leaking that day…

Channeling water to us…

Just as awesome as the hot spring baths were, though, was the hike to get to them.  BEAUTIFUL.  As someone who has lived on the East Coast her whole life, the Pacific Northwest still has a mystical quality to it to me (which I didn’t quite enjoy the first time I saw it, which was driving from Seattle to Vancouver for the Back In Your Head video shoot, during which time I was too busy panicking about how I’d lost my mind to have flown across the country to do this).  The mountains, the evergreens, everything… even the fact that there was — as we had not quite anticipated — snow!  (It had somehow not occurred to us that there would be snow, despite the fact that we were driving up into the mountains.  It was April and 60 degrees and lovely in Portland, why would there be snow?!)  Despite this, it was warm enough to hike with just a jacket, and all of the snow was melting and things that weren’t already green were turning green, just adding to this wonderful ethereal mist of spring.  Did I mention that I love hiking?  I love hiking.  Especially hiking that does not involve a tent and bugs.

Stream in the Woods

Droplet

I loved the moss hanging off of everything, especially backlit by the sun…

Moss and Sun

Wood Bridge

Why I love traveling with Erin: she is the one person who will never get mad at me for stopping to take too many pictures.

Present left in a tree stump?

Heading home.  😦

All in all, a really awesome, relaxing day, and a really good trip.  The hot water (and the painkillers) helped a ton, and by the time I left I was feeling a lot better and sad to go.  But I’ll leave you with this clip of us driving home, since I feel like pictures can’t quite capture it all sometime… (and if my YouTube channel gets flagged for the music we have playing in the background, by god, I might kill someone…)

Janay says:

WOW absolutely breathtaking, gorgeous pictures!!! As usual! Love it!

UM…I don’t know Jaime I don’t think you should take any more chances with your channel, was shocked you even filmed “Alligator” in PDX…i mean, this *could* get blocked.

Great post though! The place looks like a dream!



wojo4hitz says:

yes, this is a good point… i might do a music swap and put in one of their approved pieces of music before they flag me. glad you enjoyed the pics! 😀 i hope i’m able to keep up doing posts like this.



wojo4hitz says:

audio swap complete! go check it out! ;D



Lee says:

Wow, makes me want to go there! Thanks Jaime!



wojo4hitz says:

Welcome! It really was beautiful…



What’s Middlesex like? It’s sitting on my bookshelf but I’m put off by big and heavygoing it seems!



wojo4hitz says:

well, it’s the first book i’ve actually finished in a long, long time, if that says anything! i think the writing is great… very colorful without being overdone… and the way the narrator threads his story through those of his parents and grandparents, as well as the history of the places they lived at the time, is very nice. so i’d recommend giving it a try. 🙂 i have the paperback, and it’s really not that big?



Cecelia says:

One word: AMAZING.
This absolutely makes me want to hop in a plane (which isn’t possible at the moment because of the volcano..) and leave this German boredom behind!
Very nice pictures, Jaime. Keep it coming 🙂

ps.: Is that the spot where they shot the scene of the L-Word, the Dana funeral thing, you know? I mean I’ve only seen it once, so I might be mistaken but I totally loved the scenery and it might be the same one…



Leave a Reply

et cetera
